USSA elects board of directors for 2023


The US Superyacht Association (USSA) has elected its board of directors for 2023. Founder and editor of, Diane Byrne remains as chair and is joined by Bert Fowles, vice president of marketing and sales, Island Global Yachting, as vice chair.

Kate Pearson, vice president of business development at Safe Harbour Marinas, was also elected to the board as past chair. Joe Dargavage, managing partner Romora Bay Resort and Marina and partner of yacht agency United Island and Yacht was elected as advocacy co-chair alongside Monique Webber, yacht agent, Pacific Yacht Management.

Kitty McGowan, USSA president said: “The USSA is fortunate to have such a strong and diverse board representing nearly all facets of the superyacht industry to help propel us to new heights and vibrancy.”

Bob Allen, founding partner of Robert Allen Law will continue as governance chair. The USSA treasurer and president of marine service provider Saunders Yacht Works, John Fitzgerald, was also re-elected for another term.

Founder of Oasis Marinas, Dan Cowens and digital marketing strategist Julie Perry, will continue as marketing co-chairs. Zack Savage of Underwater Lights and Julie Berry of CBRE Capital Markets will also continue for another year as membership co-chairs.


USSA board members – at a glance


Board of directors

Chair – Diane Byrne,

Vice chair –  Bert Fowles, IGY Marinas

Past chair –  Kate Pearson, Safe Harbor Marinas

Governance chair –  Bob Allen, Robert Allen Law Firm

Treasurer –John Fitzgerald, Saunders Yacht Works

Advocacy co-chairs – Joe Dargavage, Romora Bay Marina and United Island and Yacht; Monique Webber, Pacific Yacht Management.

Marketing co-chairs –  Dan Cowens, Oasis Marinas and Julie Perry,

Membership co-chairs –  Zack Savage, Underwater Lights and Julie Berry, CBRE Capital Markets.


Regional Board Members

Leah Yam – Marine Group Boat Works (Southwest)

Marty Marchant – Westport (Northwest)

Jim Ruffolo – Burger Boat Company (Great Lakes)

Mike Yorston – AERE Marine Group (Northeast)

Scott Walter – Shore Premier Finance (Mid-Atlantic)

Cliff DeFreitas – Safe Harbor LMC (Southeast)